Senior Vice Provost for Research and Vice President of the Innovation Campus at Burlington, MA

Since arriving at the university in 2007 as Dean of the College of Engineering, David has dedicated himself to the success of the university and his Northeastern colleagues. He has contributed to many of the discussions, initiatives and actions that have transformed Northeastern University into a top-tier research university. Under David’s leadership, new academic programs were launched, such as the Ph.D. in Bioengineering and the M.S. in Energy Systems. Many faculty members and professional researchers were recruited, hired, tenured, and promoted, and important achievements were made in philanthropy and the cultivation and recruitment of corporate and alumni leaders.

David has led university colleagues and external partners in the transformation of Northeastern’s Burlington campus into a vibrant innovation ecosystem. Under David’s helm, the Innovation Campus and related Kostas Institute endeavors have contributed significantly to the growth of research at the university. The Burlington campus was selected as home for the Army Research Laboratory, Northeast, this year, and Kostas-related grants and contracts have brought in $22.5M of awards in FY18 alone. The programs have provided research funding to 41 Northeastern faculty members and their research groups in the Colleges of Arts, Media and Design, Computer and Information Science, Engineering, Science, and Social Sciences and Humanities.

David is a Full Professor of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering who has authored more than 120 scientific articles. He is a member of the Board of Directors of the Advanced Cyber Security Center and is a Founding Director of the International Cyber Security Center of Excellence. David was a member of the U.S. Air Force Scientific Advisory Board and served as its Science and Technology Chair. He has been awarded the Air Force Meritorious Civilian Service Medal, the Ellis Island Medal of Honor, and the George Heilmeier Award for Research Excellence.